I Believe Bob McDonnell & I Don’t Believe the Media

Eyes In The Northwest

STATEMENT OF FORMER GOVERNOR ROBERT F. MCDONNELL

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA

Good evening.

My fellow Virginians, I come before you this evening as someone who has been falsely accused and whose public service has been wrongfully attacked. Earlier today, federal prosecutors filed criminal charges against me and my wife Maureen, alleging that we violated federal law by accepting gifts and loans from Jonnie Williams, the former CEO of Star Scientific. I deeply regret accepting legal gifts and loans from Mr. Williams, all of which have been repaid with interest, and I have apologized for my poor judgment for which I take full responsibility. However, I repeat emphatically that I did nothing illegal for Mr. Williams in exchange for what I believed was his personal generosity and friendship.

I never promised – and Mr. Williams and his company never received – any government benefit of any kind from me or my Administration: no…

View original post 566 more words

Leave a Reply

